Recipes

Pumpkin Curry

It’s fall! Today it rained in Sacramento and it was absolutely wonderful. I have been wanting rain for weeks! I’ll be over it in a few months, but for now I’m savoring every moment.

 

I am in love with fall foods, *especially* pumpkin. On Sunday night I made Joy the Baker’s pumpkin chocolate chip cookies (A-MAZ-ING) and today I made some pumpkin curry for dinner. I have been obsessed with pumpkin curry ever since I had it at a Thai restaurant forever ago…I couldn’t find a recipe I liked, though! So, this is me winging it. And it turned out SO good. I’m very happy.

 

Sorry, blog world. I was lazy and hungry, so I took the picture with my phone. But it’s delicious, I swear. 🙂

 

Pumpkin Curry

 

1-2 cups chopped chicken breast

1 cup chopped pumpkin (or you can use kabocha squash)

1/2 tablespoon grape seed or olive oil

1/2 tsp. garam masala

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp turmeric

2 tsp. garlic

1 1/2 tsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. salt

pepper (to taste)

1 can coconut milk

 

Heat the oil in a large skillet or wok and add the chicken breast. Sprinkle with half of the cumin and turmeric. Fry for a few minutes, until no longer pink. Add the ginger, garlic, and the rest of the spices. Saute until fragrant (just a few minutes). Add the pumpkin and cook for about 5 more minutes. Add the coconut milk and simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until the pumpkin is tender (stick a fork into it – it should break apart easily). Serve with rice and enjoy!

 

What are your favorite fall recipes? I’m dying to try something new…

Leave a comment