Family / Thoughts

Things My Mother Taught Me

It never hurts to put your heart into something you love.

You can do hard things.

If you just don’t want to do it, then you should probably get up and do it anyways.

Don’t sell yourself short.

Love unconditionally.

Respect others and yourself. And expect that they will respect you as well.

Hard work pays off.

Eat good food.

You can do anything for a month. Or a year.

Read your scriptures and say your prayers. It’s the key to happiness.

You’re never too old to learn more. (Not that you’re old, Mom. Not even close. :-))

Also, you’re never too old to be smokin’ hot. 😛

Serve others.

Take care of yourself. This is the only body you get. Treat it well.

Be true to who you are and what you believe.

Above all, my mother has taught me how to be a mother myself. I wouldn’t be able to do this without her example and without the lessons she taught me over the last 25 years.

Eric and I are about to embark on a new adventure – we’re going to be parents of two!! I am so excited for this new change, but a little scared as well. When I feel overwhelmed by the concept of multiple children, though, I just remember my mom. And I remember that if I just follow her lead, I will be alright. I can only hope I can be half the mother that she was to me.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. Thank you for your love, your kindness, your service, and your sacrifice. Thank you for teaching me how to live. I love you! 

Pictures courtesy of my dad, my sister Kenzie, and my mom. 

 

Leave a Reply

