Recipes

Roasted Chickpeas

Yesterday I mentioned that I was trying to move over to a whole foods diet for our family, which has meant cutting out a lot of processed snacks and moving towards healthier things. I had been seeing rave reviews for roasted chickpeas all over Pinterest, so I figured it was something I should try.

 

Oh my goodness. These things are so good. I am addicted.

 

 

Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. High in protein, without all the fat and cholesterol of meat (in fact, they lower your cholesterol). Combine that with some delicious spices and you’ve got a winner.

 

Roasted Chickpeas


1 can (or 2 or 10) of chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained

Olive Oil

Paprika

Sea Salt

Cumin

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. Mix the chickpeas, some olive oil, and the spices (I usually use 1/2-1 tsp of each per can of chickpeas.) in a bowl and then put in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Roast for about 35 minutes, or until beautiful crispy.

Pull them out of the oven and eat them immediately. Seriously. They’re amazing all the time, but they’re best right out of the oven.

Oh, and PS: the kiddo loved them, too. In fact, she ate most of them…which almost makes me regret sharing.

What are your favorite healthy snacks?

Leave a Reply

