Recipes

My Go-To Lunch

Lunch is hard for me. Dinner I totally get – I’ll plan them, I’ll cook them, I love them. I can even make a good breakfast most of the time. Lunch is different, though. I don’t know if it’s because it’s in the middle of the day, or I just don’t get hungry enough, but I always forget about lunch.

Having a toddler that loves to eat has made me realize that maybe I can’t skip meals anymore. So I’m trying to find lunches that I love and that she can love, too!This is one of my go-to lunches right now.

My mom used to make it when I was a kid, so it doesn’t have an official name…but don’t worry about it. It’s easy, healthy, and delicious. Luckily, I’ve been blessed with a daughter that will eat anything, so she loves this, too! And there’s always the fall back of PB&J.

Stir Fried Veggies w/ Cheese 

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1/4 sliced red pepper

1/4 sliced green pepper

1/4 sliced yellow pepper

1/4 onion, sliced

a couple handfuls of spinach

a few handfuls of sliced mushrooms

1/4 cup grated cheese

1 piece pita bread (optional)

Heat the oil in a sauté pan. Add the onion and fry a couple of minutes, until fragrant. Add the mushrooms and peppers, stir fry until just tender (3 to 4 minutes). Add the spinach and fry until wilted. Throw some cheese on top and let it melt. Scoop the mixture into pita bread (or just eat it as is!) and enjoy.

I have another recipe that I tried yesterday and posted a picture of to Instagram. Don’t worry, I’ll be sharing that, too, soon. It’s official, though…I’m a lunch convert!

What are some of your favorite lunches?

Leave a Reply

