Motherhood / Thoughts

He’s Got a Point

Me: Don’t mess with me, I’m on my period.

Eric: Ok, for the last two weeks or something it’s been “Don’t mess with me, I’m PMSing,” now it’s, “Don’t mess with me, I’m on my period.” Why don’t you just say, “Don’t mess with me, I’m a woman?”

Me: …

 

I guess he’s got a point.

 

 

On a completely unrelated note…

 

Josephine had her first big girl tantrum yesterday.

In the middle of Costco.

On a Friday afternoon.

And let me tell you…it was horrifying. She’s usually really good natured, but all of the sudden this toddler beast took over and there was nothing I could do.

 

I learned two things from this experience.

 

1. I am so sorry to any mother I’ve ever judged pre-mommyhood when their kid was throwing a tantrum in a public place. I understand now. There’s seriously nothing you can do to stop it. Next time I will give you a hug, I promise.

 

2. I need tips on how to calm a tantrum-throwing toddler. I tried food, hugs, and ignoring it…the screaming continued. Until we got in the car and I turned it on. Then she started happily talking again and I kept looking in the rearview mirror to make sure she was the same kid.

Leave a Reply

