Childbirth / Family / Motherhood

A Baby Story: Josephine Jacqueline Leavitt

It started the night before my birthday.

 

At first, I thought this was kind of lame. Still really excited, but…Josephine was due a week before my birthday. What are the chances she came on the same day? I so did not want to share! But if she was coming, she was coming, and there really wasn’t much I could do about it.

 

And it was time. I was in labor all night, but contractions were never close enough together for me to go to the hospital. I walked around. I tried to sleep. I watched some sweet late night informercials. Nothing helped. Finally, around 5 AM I woke up my husband and my mom (she was visiting to help out!) and told them we had to go. I was ready. Unfortunately, the contractions were still not close enough together. My mom suggested we open birthday presents. To this day, I still don’t remember much of what I received (sorry everybody). It was one of those days.

 

I started crying. I’m not big on pain. I think that’s what convinced them that we probably should get going, though, so…win. 🙂

 

IMG 9223

 

We got to the hospital around 6 AM and they admitted me (yay!), but…there were a lot of moms in labor there. So many that there were no rooms available, so they threw me in recovery with all the recovering moms. I was fine wherever I was, as long as I got my drugs ASAP.

 

About an hour later…the epidural. And sleep. Thank goodness for epidurals. (All you natural birthing ladies are amazing.)

 

IMG 9230

IMG 9235

 

We slept for a while. We watched Project Runway for a while. We hung out and talked. Everyone thought it was cool that it was my birthday and we might get a baby. I was supposed to be going out to Thai food!

 

But seriously, I was freaking excited. I couldn’t wait for my little girl to get here.

 

And at 7:25 pm…she was here.

 

IMG 9242

IMG 9253

 

And she was (and still is) beautiful.

 

IMG 9265

 

IMG 9297

 

IMG 9308

 

And you know what? I LOVE sharing my birthday with my daughter. It is officially the best day ever.

 

IMG 9386

 

More stories to come!

Leave a Reply

